[{"data":1,"prerenderedAt":558},["ShallowReactive",2],{"home":3},{"programs":4,"trials":154,"guides":270},[5,43,69,98,126],{"id":6,"title":7,"address":8,"body":9,"city":23,"costNote":24,"country":25,"description":15,"detoxRequired":26,"extension":27,"insuranceNote":28,"medicine":29,"meta":30,"name":31,"navigation":26,"path":32,"phone":33,"region":34,"seo":35,"stem":36,"substances":37,"summary":39,"verified":40,"website":41,"__hash__":42},"programs\u002Fprograms\u002Favesta-ketamine-dmv.md","Avesta Ketamine Dmv","Bethesda MD, Washington DC, Columbia MD, Tysons VA and Norfolk VA",{"type":10,"value":11,"toc":19},"minimark",[12,16],[13,14,15],"p",{},"Ketamine for alcohol use disorder is off-label and still experimental. The best evidence is for a short course of ketamine paired with structured therapy, after detox, as an addition to ongoing recovery support rather than a replacement for it.",[13,17,18],{},"Avesta stands out for stating the order plainly: detox first, then sub-anaesthetic ketamine under monitoring, coordinated with counselling that continues outside the clinic. That is the sequence the evidence supports and it is worth using as a yardstick for any other program. Five locations across DC, Maryland and Virginia.",{"title":20,"searchDepth":21,"depth":21,"links":22},"",2,[],"Washington","Pricing on request.","US",true,"md","Out of pocket for ketamine; Spravato may be covered.","ketamine",{},"Avesta Ketamine and Wellness","\u002Fprograms\u002Favesta-ketamine-dmv",null,"DMV",{"description":15},"programs\u002Favesta-ketamine-dmv",[38],"alcohol","A five-clinic group around Washington DC that offers monitored ketamine for alcohol use disorder, requires full detox before treatment and coordinates with the patient's own counselling.","2026-09-19","https:\u002F\u002Favestaketaminewellness.com","B8EsnPBN13U1ohR4DV03vx6LmRU1o4iUcpSOdz1OOFs",{"id":44,"title":45,"address":46,"body":47,"city":56,"costNote":24,"country":25,"description":15,"detoxRequired":57,"extension":27,"insuranceNote":58,"medicine":29,"meta":59,"name":60,"navigation":26,"path":61,"phone":33,"region":62,"seo":63,"stem":64,"substances":65,"summary":66,"verified":40,"website":67,"__hash__":68},"programs\u002Fprograms\u002Finnerbloom-san-luis-obispo.md","Innerbloom San Luis Obispo","San Luis Obispo, CA",{"type":10,"value":48,"toc":54},[49,51],[13,50,15],{},[13,52,53],{},"Innerbloom describes its alcohol protocol in unusual detail: six IV ketamine infusions, twice a week for three weeks, with psychotherapy starting before the first infusion and continuing after the series ends. That transparency is a good sign. Ask who provides the psychotherapy and whether it is included in the price.",{"title":20,"searchDepth":21,"depth":21,"links":55},[],"San Luis Obispo",false,"Out of pocket.",{},"Innerbloom Ketamine Therapy","\u002Fprograms\u002Finnerbloom-san-luis-obispo","CA",{"description":15},"programs\u002Finnerbloom-san-luis-obispo",[38],"A central-California clinic following a research-based protocol for alcohol use disorder: six IV infusions over three weeks with psychotherapy before, between and after.","https:\u002F\u002Finnerbloomketamine.com","abrvySwpEscTq2lwTtFxP04FiuJUeVEkuV1S9y18sys",{"id":70,"title":71,"address":72,"body":73,"city":85,"costNote":86,"country":25,"description":15,"detoxRequired":57,"extension":27,"insuranceNote":87,"medicine":29,"meta":88,"name":89,"navigation":26,"path":90,"phone":33,"region":91,"seo":92,"stem":93,"substances":94,"summary":95,"verified":40,"website":96,"__hash__":97},"programs\u002Fprograms\u002Fketa-medical-center-ny-nj.md","Keta Medical Center Ny Nj","Clinics in New York and New Jersey",{"type":10,"value":74,"toc":83},[75,77,80],[13,76,15],{},[13,78,79],{},"Keta Medical Center is one of the few ketamine practices that reports most of its patients paying through insurance, which matters in a field where cost is usually the barrier. It offers ketamine-assisted psychotherapy and integrated psychiatric care, and recommends maintenance sessions after the initial course. Evening and weekend hours.",[13,81,82],{},"It does not state a detox requirement on its alcohol page; ask how withdrawal risk is assessed before the first session.",{"title":20,"searchDepth":21,"depth":21,"links":84},[],"New York and New Jersey","Reported as $50 or less per treatment for most insured patients.","Accepts insurance; the majority of patients are covered.",{},"Keta Medical Center","\u002Fprograms\u002Fketa-medical-center-ny-nj","NY",{"description":15},"programs\u002Fketa-medical-center-ny-nj",[38],"Physician-led ketamine clinics in New York and New Jersey that treat alcohol use disorder alongside psychiatric care, and are unusual in taking insurance.","https:\u002F\u002Fketamc.com","ZwlTlyK68yu0H1-CzujziN6n8XkQ1kl63wUN6OjtM5c",{"id":99,"title":100,"address":101,"body":102,"city":114,"costNote":115,"country":25,"description":15,"detoxRequired":26,"extension":27,"insuranceNote":116,"medicine":29,"meta":117,"name":118,"navigation":26,"path":119,"phone":33,"region":91,"seo":120,"stem":121,"substances":122,"summary":123,"verified":40,"website":124,"__hash__":125},"programs\u002Fprograms\u002Fnushama-new-york.md","Nushama New York","Madison Avenue, Midtown Manhattan, New York, NY",{"type":10,"value":103,"toc":112},[104,106,109],[13,105,15],{},[13,107,108],{},"Nushama's alcohol program is built directly on the KARE protocol from the UK trial that gave the approach its evidence base: a short series of ketamine sessions inside a structured course of mindfulness-based relapse prevention therapy, delivered over four weeks as an outpatient. It also treats depression and alcohol use together for people with both, which is common.",[13,110,111],{},"Ask what the screening looks like for withdrawal risk, what happens between sessions, and what the plan is for the months after the course ends.",{"title":20,"searchDepth":21,"depth":21,"links":113},[],"New York","Program pricing on request; positioned as a fraction of inpatient rehab cost.","Out of pocket; ask about HSA\u002FFSA.",{},"Nushama","\u002Fprograms\u002Fnushama-new-york",{"description":15},"programs\u002Fnushama-new-york",[38],"A Manhattan ketamine clinic running a four-week, seven-session alcohol program modelled on the KARE trial, pairing infusions with mindfulness-based relapse prevention.","https:\u002F\u002Fnushama.com","VcU6NmZDRZZVEUdh2qBuwf62Y0dDgwMn_l8RZZxNZo8",{"id":127,"title":128,"address":129,"body":130,"city":140,"costNote":141,"country":25,"description":134,"detoxRequired":57,"extension":27,"insuranceNote":142,"medicine":143,"meta":144,"name":145,"navigation":26,"path":146,"phone":33,"region":147,"seo":148,"stem":149,"substances":150,"summary":152,"verified":40,"website":33,"__hash__":153},"programs\u002Fprograms\u002Fthe-center-origin-denver.md","The Center Origin Denver","Blake Street, downtown Denver, CO",{"type":10,"value":131,"toc":138},[132,135],[13,133,134],{},"Colorado's licensed psilocybin program is non-medical. Anyone 21 or over can attend after a safety screening, no diagnosis is required, and facilitators are not clinicians unless they hold a separate licence. That makes it a legal way to have a supervised psilocybin experience with substance use as your stated intention, and not an addiction treatment program: there is no detox, no withdrawal management and no medical follow-up.",[13,136,137],{},"The Center Origin was the first healing center licensed in the state and names addiction among the conditions it serves. Every client goes through screening and two preparation sessions before an administration session. If you are physically dependent on alcohol, treat this as something to discuss with your treatment team as a possible adjunct once you are stable.",{"title":20,"searchDepth":21,"depth":21,"links":139},[],"Denver","Reported at roughly $3,000–3,500 and up per program.","Not covered by insurance.","psilocybin",{},"The Center Origin","\u002Fprograms\u002Fthe-center-origin-denver","CO",{"description":134},"programs\u002Fthe-center-origin-denver",[38,151],"general","Colorado's first licensed natural medicine healing center, which lists addiction among the conditions it works with under the state's non-medical psilocybin program.","9LCwxlQ5L8bRoxCZOLl0sodQUyJP91mocgbPQ_T_il8",[155,185,213,241],{"id":156,"title":157,"address":33,"body":158,"city":171,"contact":33,"country":62,"description":162,"extension":27,"medicine":143,"meta":172,"name":173,"navigation":26,"path":174,"phone":33,"region":175,"registry":33,"seo":176,"sponsor":177,"status":178,"stem":179,"substances":180,"summary":181,"verified":182,"website":183,"__hash__":184},"trials\u002Ftrials\u002Fcentre-for-neurology-studies-surrey.md","Centre For Neurology Studies Surrey",{"type":10,"value":159,"toc":169},[160,163,166],[13,161,162],{},"Trials are the only way to receive psilocybin for alcohol use disorder legally in Canada outside a Special Access Program request, and they are free. They also have strict entry criteria and a chance of receiving a low dose. Status changes; check the registry link before contacting a site.",[13,164,165],{},"This is the only BC site we have found registering people for a psilocybin trial in alcohol use disorder. The Centre for Neurology Studies is a private research site that runs industry-sponsored trials; its registration page lists a psilocybin-assisted psychotherapy study for adults 18 to 70 who want to reduce or stop alcohol use.",[13,167,168],{},"We have not confirmed the sponsor, registry entry or current recruitment status, which is why this listing is marked as not yet checked. Ask for the ClinicalTrials.gov identifier when you enquire.",{"title":20,"searchDepth":21,"depth":21,"links":170},[],"Surrey",{},"Centre for Neurology Studies — psilocybin-assisted psychotherapy for alcohol use disorder","\u002Ftrials\u002Fcentre-for-neurology-studies-surrey","BC",{"description":162},"Centre for Neurology Studies (private research site)","Listed as registering participants; confirm current status","trials\u002Fcentre-for-neurology-studies-surrey",[38],"A private clinical research site in Surrey, BC, registering adults aged 18 to 70 who want to reduce or stop drinking for a psilocybin-assisted psychotherapy study.","null","https:\u002F\u002Fcentreforneurologystudies.com\u002Fregister-for-a-study\u002F","L9xxr1Y5O0pIgK9Dwqzc9PW1BZZ9xjf5gZuoojK4pfo",{"id":186,"title":187,"address":33,"body":188,"city":200,"contact":33,"country":62,"description":162,"extension":27,"medicine":143,"meta":201,"name":202,"navigation":26,"path":203,"phone":33,"region":204,"registry":33,"seo":205,"sponsor":206,"status":207,"stem":208,"substances":209,"summary":210,"verified":40,"website":211,"__hash__":212},"trials\u002Ftrials\u002Fqueens-khsc-clairvoyant-aud.md","Queens Khsc Clairvoyant Aud",{"type":10,"value":189,"toc":198},[190,192,195],[13,191,162],{},[13,193,194],{},"Queen's University and Kingston Health Sciences Centre are a site for Clairvoyant Therapeutics' Phase 2b trial, which tests a single 25 mg dose of psilocybin against a 1 mg comparison dose, both with motivational enhancement therapy, in people who have been drinking heavily and want to cut down. Participants with much prior hallucinogen experience are excluded.",[13,196,197],{},"Contact the site through the Queen's announcement page; the trial may have additional Canadian sites.",{"title":20,"searchDepth":21,"depth":21,"links":199},[],"Kingston",{},"Queen's University \u002F KHSC — psilocybin therapy for alcohol use disorder","\u002Ftrials\u002Fqueens-khsc-clairvoyant-aud","ON",{"description":162},"Clairvoyant Therapeutics (Vancouver)","Announced; check current recruitment","trials\u002Fqueens-khsc-clairvoyant-aud",[38],"A Phase 2b trial at Kingston Health Sciences Centre combining psilocybin with motivational enhancement therapy, sponsored by a Vancouver biotech aiming to bring psilocybin therapy for alcohol use disorder to Canada, the UK and the EU.","https:\u002F\u002Fhealthsci.queensu.ca\u002Fstories\u002Fnews-announcements\u002Fqueens-and-khsc-launch-clinical-trial-psilocybin-therapy-treat-alcohol","CVTZZpX8lbQDjubpDsSmhs0N8stUYXuozHQXT4AgmZE",{"id":214,"title":215,"address":33,"body":216,"city":228,"contact":33,"country":62,"description":162,"extension":27,"medicine":143,"meta":229,"name":230,"navigation":26,"path":231,"phone":33,"region":232,"registry":33,"seo":233,"sponsor":234,"status":235,"stem":236,"substances":237,"summary":238,"verified":40,"website":239,"__hash__":240},"trials\u002Ftrials\u002Fucalgary-psilocybin-aud.md","Ucalgary Psilocybin Aud",{"type":10,"value":217,"toc":226},[218,220,223],[13,219,162],{},[13,221,222],{},"Run out of the Cumming School of Medicine's PaCT Lab, this randomised trial pairs a single psilocybin session, at a high or low dose, with motivational enhancement therapy. Each participant is assigned one therapist for the whole trial, receives up to eight hours of preparation before dosing and five weekly sessions after. The stated aim is to find out not just whether it works but for whom and why.",[13,224,225],{},"The lab's site carries the recruitment form. Participants need to be in Calgary for the study visits.",{"title":20,"searchDepth":21,"depth":21,"links":227},[],"Calgary",{},"University of Calgary — psilocybin-assisted psychotherapy for alcohol use disorder","\u002Ftrials\u002Fucalgary-psilocybin-aud","AB",{"description":162},"University of Calgary (PaCT Lab, Dr Leah Mayo)","Recruiting as of mid-2026","trials\u002Fucalgary-psilocybin-aud",[38],"Canada's largest single-site psilocybin trial for alcohol use disorder: 128 participants, high or low dose, up to eight hours of preparation and five weekly therapy sessions afterward.","https:\u002F\u002Fwww.pactlab.ca","R3JTxH1lST4u7h8JSnYo0UAuccpwBuCOJkxcnUKMRxY",{"id":242,"title":243,"address":33,"body":244,"city":256,"contact":33,"country":25,"description":162,"extension":27,"medicine":143,"meta":257,"name":258,"navigation":26,"path":259,"phone":33,"region":260,"registry":261,"seo":262,"sponsor":263,"status":264,"stem":265,"substances":266,"summary":267,"verified":40,"website":268,"__hash__":269},"trials\u002Ftrials\u002Fuw-psilostudy-seattle.md","Uw Psilostudy Seattle",{"type":10,"value":245,"toc":254},[246,248,251],[13,247,162],{},[13,249,250],{},"PsiloStudy came out of a 2023 Washington law that ordered a state study of psilocybin. It enrols a small cohort of veterans and first responders with both alcohol use disorder and PTSD, treated with psilocybin and psychological support, with follow-up for up to six months and compensation of up to $550. Led by an addiction psychiatrist at UW.",[13,252,253],{},"Eligibility is narrow by design. The pre-screen survey is linked from the institute's page.",{"title":20,"searchDepth":21,"depth":21,"links":255},[],"Seattle",{},"University of Washington — PsiloStudy (alcohol use disorder with PTSD)","\u002Ftrials\u002Fuw-psilostudy-seattle","WA","NCT06853912",{"description":162},"University of Washington Addictions, Drug & Alcohol Institute; funded under Washington SB 5263","Recruiting as of early 2025; confirm before applying","trials\u002Fuw-psilostudy-seattle",[38],"A state-mandated Washington study of psilocybin with psychological support for veterans and first responders who have both alcohol use disorder and PTSD.","https:\u002F\u002Fadai.uw.edu\u002F?p=12844","Oq5ip8Hq2RzbRjjufXTQ_e4f43uimwTvhinj2aqngxE",[271,381,450],{"id":272,"title":273,"body":274,"date":40,"description":374,"extension":27,"meta":375,"navigation":26,"order":376,"path":377,"seo":378,"stem":379,"__hash__":380},"guides\u002Fguides\u002Fwhat-is-actually-available.md","What is actually available for alcohol and other substance use",{"type":10,"value":275,"toc":369},[276,279,284,291,297,303,309,315,319,351,355,363],[13,277,278],{},"If you have read that psychedelics can treat addiction, the first thing to know is that almost none of it is available as a treatment yet. This guide sorts the options by evidence and by legality, because the two do not line up.",[280,281,283],"h2",{"id":282},"the-evidence-briefly","The evidence, briefly",[13,285,286,290],{},[287,288,289],"strong",{},"Psilocybin for alcohol."," The strongest single result in the field. A 2022 randomised trial at NYU gave 93 people with alcohol use disorder two psilocybin sessions inside a course of therapy, against an active placebo. Over the following eight months the psilocybin group had heavy-drinking days about 10 per cent of the time versus about 24 per cent for the comparison group. Larger trials, including several in Canada, are now running to confirm it.",[13,292,293,296],{},[287,294,295],{},"Ketamine for alcohol."," A 2022 UK trial (KARE) gave 96 people three ketamine infusions with or without a structured therapy course. Ketamine plus therapy produced the highest proportion of days abstinent over six months. Earlier small trials from Columbia University found similar signals. The effect is real but modest, and it depends on the therapy.",[13,298,299,302],{},[287,300,301],{},"Ketamine for cocaine and other stimulants."," Small trials, encouraging, not replicated at scale.",[13,304,305,308],{},[287,306,307],{},"Anything for opioids."," Very little controlled evidence for any psychedelic. Medications like buprenorphine and methadone have decades of evidence and remain the standard of care; nothing here replaces them.",[13,310,311,314],{},[287,312,313],{},"Ibogaine."," Widely discussed for opioid withdrawal and used at unregulated clinics abroad. It carries a documented risk of fatal heart rhythm disturbance and has never been through a controlled trial in humans. Some US states have funded research into it; that research has not reported yet. We do not list ibogaine providers.",[280,316,318],{"id":317},"what-you-can-legally-do-today","What you can legally do today",[320,321,322,335,341],"ul",{},[323,324,325,328,329,334],"li",{},[287,326,327],{},"Ketamine, Canada and the US."," Legal, prescribed off-label by a physician, usually in a clinic. A handful of clinics run dedicated alcohol programs modelled on the trials; most treat alcohol use as part of depression care if at all. See our ",[330,331,333],"a",{"href":332},"\u002Fprograms","programs",".",[323,336,337,340],{},[287,338,339],{},"Psilocybin, Oregon and Colorado."," Legal for adults 21+ at licensed centres, without a diagnosis, under a non-medical program. Some centres name addiction among the things they work with. It is a supervised experience, not an addiction treatment: no detox, no medical follow-up.",[323,342,343,346,347,334],{},[287,344,345],{},"Psilocybin, everywhere else."," Illegal outside clinical trials, with narrow exceptions: Canada's Special Access Program lets a physician apply on a patient's behalf, case by case, and Australia allows authorised psychiatrists to prescribe. Trials are the realistic route, and they are free. See our ",[330,348,350],{"href":349},"\u002Ftrials","trials",[280,352,354],{"id":353},"where-that-leaves-you","Where that leaves you",[13,356,357,358,362],{},"If your problem is alcohol, there are more legal options than for any other substance, and the order is: get stable first, then bring ketamine or a psilocybin trial to your treatment team as an addition. If your problem is opioids, nothing on this site should come before medication treatment, and the psychedelic options are years away. If someone is offering you a psychedelic for addiction outside these routes, our ",[330,359,361],{"href":360},"\u002Fguides\u002Fquestions-to-ask","questions guide"," is written for that conversation.",[13,364,365],{},[366,367,368],"em",{},"This is general information, not medical advice.",{"title":20,"searchDepth":21,"depth":21,"links":370},[371,372,373],{"id":282,"depth":21,"text":283},{"id":317,"depth":21,"text":318},{"id":353,"depth":21,"text":354},"Ketamine, psilocybin, trials, and the things that are still illegal, sorted by how much evidence stands behind them and how you can legally get them in Canada and the US.",{},1,"\u002Fguides\u002Fwhat-is-actually-available",{"title":273,"description":374},"guides\u002Fwhat-is-actually-available","p031qO0_SzCA2loPPNAqTLVml4lpO3mvRmTz3Ben-RQ",{"id":382,"title":383,"body":384,"date":40,"description":444,"extension":27,"meta":445,"navigation":26,"order":21,"path":446,"seo":447,"stem":448,"__hash__":449},"guides\u002Fguides\u002Fwithdrawal-first.md","Withdrawal first: why the order matters",{"type":10,"value":385,"toc":438},[386,389,393,396,399,403,417,420,424,427,431,434],[13,387,388],{},"Almost every conversation about psychedelics and addiction skips a step. The trials that produced the promising results did not enrol people in active withdrawal. They enrolled people who had been assessed, were medically stable, and in most cases had already stopped or reduced. The medicine came after.",[280,390,392],{"id":391},"why-this-is-not-a-formality","Why this is not a formality",[13,394,395],{},"Alcohol and benzodiazepine withdrawal can cause seizures and, in severe cases, death. Opioid withdrawal is rarely fatal on its own but drives relapse and overdose, and it changes how other drugs act on you. Ketamine raises heart rate and blood pressure; psilocybin can produce hours of intense distress. Neither is something to layer on top of a nervous system in withdrawal, and no responsible clinician will.",[13,397,398],{},"So the order is: assessment, then withdrawal management if you need it (medically supervised, at home or in a program, depending on severity), then a period of stability, and only then a ketamine course or a trial. Some programs say this on their site. Avesta, in the Washington DC area, states \"full detox before treatment\" as a condition. Others assume it. Ask directly.",[280,400,402],{"id":401},"what-a-good-program-asks-you","What a good program asks you",[320,404,405,408,411,414],{},[323,406,407],{},"How much you are using now, and when you last used.",[323,409,410],{},"Whether you have ever had a withdrawal seizure, delirium tremens, or a hospital admission for withdrawal.",[323,412,413],{},"What medications you take, including naltrexone, acamprosate, disulfiram, buprenorphine or methadone, and any benzodiazepines.",[323,415,416],{},"Who else is involved in your care and whether they can share information.",[13,418,419],{},"If a program does not ask these before quoting a price, that is the answer.",[280,421,423],{"id":422},"medication-interactions-worth-knowing","Medication interactions worth knowing",[13,425,426],{},"Naltrexone does not interact dangerously with ketamine or psilocybin but may blunt some effects; programs handle this differently. Buprenorphine and methadone are usually continued. Benzodiazepines reduce the effect of psilocybin and are sometimes used to end a difficult session. SSRIs are commonly held before psilocybin in trials. None of this is advice to change anything yourself; it is a list of the things your prescriber and the program need to talk about with each other.",[280,428,430],{"id":429},"if-you-are-in-withdrawal-now","If you are in withdrawal now",[13,432,433],{},"Contact a doctor, a detox service or emergency services, depending on how bad it is. Shaking, sweating and anxiety after stopping alcohol can progress to seizures within a day or two. This site can wait.",[13,435,436],{},[366,437,368],{},{"title":20,"searchDepth":21,"depth":21,"links":439},[440,441,442,443],{"id":391,"depth":21,"text":392},{"id":401,"depth":21,"text":402},{"id":422,"depth":21,"text":423},{"id":429,"depth":21,"text":430},"Alcohol, benzodiazepine and opioid withdrawal can be medically dangerous. Every credible ketamine or psilocybin program expects you to be past it before you start, and the ones that don't say so are the ones to ask about.",{},"\u002Fguides\u002Fwithdrawal-first",{"title":383,"description":444},"guides\u002Fwithdrawal-first","u48jRkbiLwn2CtMClqv2xYj5v8WEFRTBNOVk56ympqU",{"id":451,"title":452,"body":453,"date":40,"description":552,"extension":27,"meta":553,"navigation":26,"order":554,"path":360,"seo":555,"stem":556,"__hash__":557},"guides\u002Fguides\u002Fquestions-to-ask.md","Questions to ask any program before you pay",{"type":10,"value":454,"toc":549},[455,458,524,528,545],[13,456,457],{},"Addiction treatment has always attracted operators who sell hope by the week, and psychedelics have given them a new vocabulary. These questions are meant to be asked out loud, and the point is as much how they are answered as what is said.",[459,460,461,467,476,482,488,494,500,506,512,518],"ol",{},[323,462,463,466],{},[287,464,465],{},"Is what you offer legal here, and under what licence?"," A good answer names the licence: a medical practice prescribing ketamine off-label, a state-licensed psilocybin service, a registered trial. A bad answer talks about a legal grey area.",[323,468,469,472,473,334],{},[287,470,471],{},"Do you require detox or a period of stability before starting, and who assesses that?"," Yes, and a clinician, are the right answers. See ",[330,474,475],{"href":446},"withdrawal first",[323,477,478,481],{},[287,479,480],{},"Who is medically responsible during a session?"," A name and a credential. Not \"our trained team\".",[323,483,484,487],{},[287,485,486],{},"What therapy is included, who delivers it, and how many sessions before and after the medicine?"," The trials that worked used structured therapy. A program that is medicine plus a waiting room is not following the evidence.",[323,489,490,493],{},[287,491,492],{},"What happens if I have a frightening experience, or if I relapse afterward?"," Both happen. A program that has not thought about either has not run many sessions.",[323,495,496,499],{},[287,497,498],{},"Will you talk to my doctor, counsellor or treatment program?"," If not, why not.",[323,501,502,505],{},[287,503,504],{},"What does it cost in total, including therapy and follow-up, and what is refundable?"," Written down.",[323,507,508,511],{},[287,509,510],{},"What are your outcomes, and how do you know?"," Honest programs say the evidence comes from trials and they track their own results informally. Dishonest ones quote a success rate.",[323,513,514,517],{},[287,515,516],{},"Do you guarantee anything?"," No is the only acceptable answer.",[323,519,520,523],{},[287,521,522],{},"Can you point me to the study your protocol is based on?"," They should be able to name it. For ketamine and alcohol it is usually the KARE trial; for psilocybin and alcohol, the NYU trial.",[280,525,527],{"id":526},"red-flags-that-end-the-conversation","Red flags that end the conversation",[320,529,530,533,536,539,542],{},[323,531,532],{},"Any offer of psilocybin, MDMA, ibogaine or ayahuasca outside a licensed program or a registered trial.",[323,534,535],{},"Pressure to pay a deposit before screening.",[323,537,538],{},"Discouraging you from involving your own doctor or your existing recovery supports.",[323,540,541],{},"Testimonials in place of a description of the protocol.",[323,543,544],{},"A success rate.",[13,546,547],{},[366,548,368],{},{"title":20,"searchDepth":21,"depth":21,"links":550},[551],{"id":526,"depth":21,"text":527},"Ten questions that separate a program built on the evidence from one built on the marketing, and what a good answer sounds like.",{},3,{"title":452,"description":552},"guides\u002Fquestions-to-ask","3SoHJYk-VIaIPwyUP6P972TtcPCXNiOTXrxDZsi8GOY",1791062336906]